Former Online Poker Crusher Shaun Deeb Wins Another Bracelet, Leads WSOP Player of the Year Race

Posted on July 16th, 2018 by Alana Markoff

Once an online poker legend and now a WSOP grinder, Shaun Deeb won his second bracelet of the summer last week ($10,000 Big Blind Antes NLH) and now has a commanding lead in the WSOP Player of the Year race as the series winds down.

Shaun Deeb WSOP

Shaun Deeb leads the WSOP Player of the Year race as the Las Vegas series concludes. (Image:

Also, over the weekend, John Cynn defeated Tony Miles to win the WSOP Main Event, a match that lasted over 10 hours and was shown live on ESPN.

Cynn, who finished 11th in the Main Event in 2016, outlasted 7,874 players including 2009 champion Joe Cada, the 5th place finisher, won $8.8 million.

Online Legend Has Memorable Summer

Deeb, known as “shaundeeb” on PokerStars and previously “tedsfishfry” on Full Tilt Poker, has nearly $6.6 million in lifetime online poker earnings, making him one of the top online grinders in history (Phil Ivey leads with over $20 million).

Shaun doesn’t play online as much as he did in the past and has become a live tournament grinder, and for good reason. He’s been crushing live events for years but is having the best summer of his life.

At the 2018 WSOP, Deeb has 17 cashes, two bracelets, and nearly $2.5 million in earnings. He once was an online poker legend but he’s now one of the top live tournament players in the world.

Player of the Year Race Update

With only one bracelet event yet to be completed ($1 million Big One for One Drop), the WSOP Player of the Year race is coming into a clearer focus with Deeb holding a sizeable lead over a few other competitors.

2018 WSOP Player of the Year Standings

1 Shaun Deeb (4,386.84 pts)

2 Ben Yu (3,746.04 pts)

3 John Hennigan (3,552.69)

4 Joe Cada (3,531.86)

5 Scott Bohlman (3,155.88)

Many in the poker community are glad Chris Ferguson, the man partially responsible for the 2011 Black Friday scandal at Full Tilt Poker, won’t repeat as POY.

This year’s race isn’t quite over even though Deeb holds a comfortable lead. A winner won’t be crowned until the conclusion of WSOP Europe, which features 10 bracelet events, in November. The series begins October 9.

It’s unclear which of the contenders will travel to King’s Casino in Rozvadov, Czech Republic to compete in the European series. If none make the trip, it’s likely Deeb has wrapped up Player of the Year for the first time in his career.

Comments are closed.