Fourth Annual American Poker Awards Categories Revealed

Posted on February 5th, 2018 by Jon Pineda
2018 American Poker Awards

The 2018 American Poker Awards will be hosted on February 22, 2018 at the Andaz Hotel West Hollywood in Los Angeles. (Image:

The categories have been released for the fourth annual American Poker Awards, which takes place February 22 from the Andaz hotel in Hollywood, Global Poker Index founder Alex Dreyfus announced.

There will be a record 20 trophies handed on at the ceremony, and two of the winners have been predetermined. Bryn Kenney will scoop the award for 2017 GPI American Player of the Year and Kristen Bicknell will get the trophy for 2017 GPI Female Player of the Year.

These awards have already been determined based on overall performance throughout 2017. Players receive Global Poker Index points based on finish and money won in live poker tournaments around the world.

Kenney had a marvelous year, three times cashing for more than $900,000. He lost in late December to Germany’s Koray Aldemir for the GPI Player of the Year title, but still was the top-ranked American player last year.

Bicknell also had a great run in 2017, capped off by a 1st place finish in a $5,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em event at the WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic in December ($199,840). She also had seven cashes at the World Series of Poker.

Major Awards Up for Grabs

Most other awards will be selected by a jury panel of industry personnel, including members of the poker media.

The nominees haven’t been released publicly but are already available to those who vote for the winners. Take a look at some of the most interesting categories and who might win these awards.

Tournament Performance of the Year is awarded to the player who had the most impressive run in a major tournament. It’s hard to argue against Scott Blumstein, who basically came out of nowhere to scoop the WSOP Main Event for over $8 million.

The Poker Podcast of the Year could go to Joe Ingram for the second straight year. “Papi” has long hosted a popular podcast that features interviews with the biggest names in the game, including Phil Galfond, Mike Sexton, Bill Perkins, Doug Polk, Daniel Negreanu, and Phil Hellmuth.

For Poker Streamer of the Year, awarded to the person who creates the best livestreamed poker content, could go to Jason “jcarverpoker” Somerville for the second consecutive year, but don’t be surprised if Parker “tonkaaaaP” Talbot takes it down.

Other categories to watch for include Industry Person of the Year, Lifetime Achievement Award, and Video Blogger of the Year.

One Final Award, for the Fans

There is one award that poker fans can vote on: People’s Choice Award for Poker Personality of the Year. Go to to cast your ballot.

This award is given to the person who showcases the most intriguing personality in poker. It could go to a media member, podcaster, or a player who is fun to watch at the table, such as Daniel Negreanu or Phil Hellmuth. Other potential candidates include Doug Polk, Joe Ingram, and Jason Somerville.

Comments are closed.